US-Global Human Rights Defender award: A Togolese among the ten winners


On Wednesday February 1, 2023, the U.S Department of State announced the winners of the annual Global Human Rights Defender Awards. Among them, the Togolese Ekoue David Joseph Dosseh.

The US Department of State honoured this Wednesday, ten individuals from around the globe including a Togolese, as part of celebration of both the 75th Anniversary of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights and the 25th Anniversary of the UN Declaration on Human Rights Defenders.

Togo’s Ekoue David Joseph Dosseh, and nine others have been awarded for “demonstrating leadership and courage while promoting and defending human rights and fundamental freedoms; countering and exposing human rights abuses by governments and businesses; and rallying action to protect the environment, improve governance, and secure accountability and an end to impunity”.

« Dr. Dosseh has been active in building capacity of Togolese civil society, fighting against injustice and impunity, and promoting democratic advancement across the region for over 15 years», stated the organisers about the Togolese after the event.

As a doctor, Dosseh inspired unity and solidarity across medical professions and regions to present a united front, securing better working conditions for a range of medical staff. Dr. Dosseh’s recent activism centers around building a regional and international creative approach to enforce presidential term limits in West Africa.

For the US Department of State, this year’s cohort represents defenders with varied backgrounds and far-reaching potential. From working to combat slavery denialism to promoting election and labor rights, all ten honorees embody the values enshrined in the Universal Declaration of Human Rights

This year’s awardees are: Mohammad Nur Khan from Bangladesh, Elaize de Souza Farias (Brazil), Chhim Sithar (Cambodia), Nino Lomjaria and Team ( Georgia), Rosa Melania Reyes Velásquez, (Honduras), Nasrin Sotoudeh (Iran), The legal team of the Badinan detainees, led by Bashdar Hassan (Iraq), Mohamed Ely El Her (Mauritania), Ding Jiaxi – People’s (China) And Togo’s Ekoue David Joseph Dosseh.

Source :