Togo joins countries urging Taliban to facilitate departure of foreign nationals and Afghans

At least nine African countries including Togo joined nearly 60 others on Sunday in calling on the Taliban to facilitate the safe departure of foreign nationals and Afghans who wish to leave the country.

The nine countries are Burkina Faso, Mauritania, Côte d’Ivoire, Ghana, Liberia, Niger, Sierra Leone, Togo and Uganda.

” Given the deteriorating security situation, we support, are working to secure, and call on all parties to respect and facilitate, the safe and orderly departure of foreign nationals and Afghans who wish to leave the country “, said the countries in a joint press release.

” Those in positions of power and authority across Afghanistan bear responsibility—and accountability—for the protection of human life and property, and for the immediate restoration of security and civil order”, hammers the press release.

They added: “Afghans and international citizens who wish to depart must be allowed to do so; roads, airports and border crossing must remain open, and calm must be maintained. The Afghan people deserve to live in safety, security and dignity. We in the international community stand ready to assist them”.

The joint Statement on Afghanistan will be published by around 60 countries: Australia, Austria, Bahamas, Belgium, Burkina Faso, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Côte d ‘ Ivoire, Czech Republic, Denmark, Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Estonia, High Representative of the European Union for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy, Federated States of Micronesia, Fiji, Finland, France, Georgia , Germany, Ghana, Greece, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras.

The other nations are: Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Latvia, Liberia, Lichtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Marshall Islands, Mauritania, Nauru, Netherlands, New Zealand, Niger, Norway, Palau, Panama, Paraguay, Poland, Portugal, Qatar, Republic of Korea, Republic of Cyprus, Romania, Sierra Leone, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Suriname, Sweden, Togo, Tonga, Uganda, United Kingdom, Ukraine and Yemen.

Source :