Togo-Covid-19: Mandatory quarantine for travelers from 7 countries

Togo is strengthening its security system at International Airport of Gnassingbé Eyadema especially with travelers coming from “risk areas.”

The Minister in charge of Health, Moustafa Mijiyawa, asked the Director-General of Togo’s National Civil Aviation Agency “to systematically quarantine” people from seven countries for 72 hours.

This measure which entered into force on Tuesday, August 31, 2021, concerns countries such as Brazil, South Africa, India, the United Kingdom, Russia, Portugal and Tunisia.

According to the minister’s note, this measure is motivated by the health situation in these countries. In particular, information showing more virulent and more contagious variants of the coronavirus.

According to figures updated on September 1, 2021 at 5:10 local time, the West African country has recorded 185 deaths linked to the infectious disease coronavirus, 21,561 cases in total with 4,450 active cases.

Source :